PRESERVATION MASSACHUSETTS  has awarded the 2021 Paul & Niki Tsongus Award to Mayflower II, the ship built in 1957 by English war veterans Warwick Charlton and John Lowe to honor the American People.   Since then it has been under the care Plimoth Patuxet (formerly Plimoth Plantation) and in 2019 was re-launched following several years of reconstruction and restoration.

U.S. Senator John F. Kennedy of Massachusetts was one of those who welcomed the ship.  Paul Tsongus, in whose name the award is given, was also the state’s U.S. Senator 1979-1985, following two terms in the House of Representative 1975-1979.

Eleven groups were also awarded the prize and on May 20 one of them will be honored as the “People’s Choice Winner.”  You can vote for Mayflower II by clicking on image below and casting your vote.  You can vote as many times as you wish. CLICK AND VOTE!

Here is a list of the other 2021 Paul & Niki Tsongus Award winners.

  • Arlington Point, Lawrence

  • Carter School Apartments, Leominster

  • George Walter Smith Art Museum, Springfield

  • Fitchburg City Hall

  • Seamen’s Bethel and Mariners Home at the New Bedford Port Society Complex

  • Jenkins Block, Whitman

  • Cobbet Hill Apartments, Lynn

  • Nathaniel T. Allen House, West Newton

  • Reed Toy Factory, Leominster

  • Paul Pezzella, Legislative Agent, Boston

Learn more.


There’s more to the Mayflower story than meets the eye.

We explore myths, mysteries and mumbo-jumbo.

 Follow us on Facebook.